The AFP badge

The AFP badgeThe AFP Badge is comprised of:

  • The Crown
  • The Commonwealth Star
  • The Wreath
  • The Commonwealth Coat of Arms
  • the words: AUSTRALIAN FEDERAL POLICE are placed in an arc around the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, on a blue disc and ribbon.

The Crown

The current style of Crown within the badges of the British Commonwealth defence and police forces is commonly referred to as the 'Queen's Crown' and is based on the Sovereign's St Edward Crown. The placement of the Crown in military badges, upon which police badges are based, dates back to 1751.

The Commonwealth Star

The Commonwealth Star (also known as the Federation Star, the Seven Point Star, or the Star of Federation) is a seven-pointed star symbolising the Federation of Australia which came into force on 1 January 1901.

Six points of the Commonwealth Star represent the six original states of the Commonwealth of Australia, while the seventh point represents the territories and any other future states of Australia.

The Wreath

The wreath represents victory. In Roman times a victor, be it in battle or in sport (e.g. chariot racing), was awarded a wreath which was worn on the head as a crown of victory.

The Commonwealth Coat of Arms

The Commonwealth Coat of Arms is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia that signifies Commonwealth authority and ownership.

If it doesn't add up, speak up. Call the National Security Hotline - 1800 123 400.

Read the AFP Annual Report 2021-22

Australian Centre to Counter Child Exploitation - visit website

Policing and community news from the AFP