ThinkUKnow volunteers recognised for their dedication to keeping children safe online


ThinkUKnow volunteers and program partners from across Australia have been recognised for their commitment to online child safety education as part of this year’s International Volunteers Day.

The ThinkUKnow program is Australia’s first and only nationally delivered, law enforcement-led online child safety program and is in its 10th year of operation.

The ThinkUKnow Volunteer of the Year awards ceremony was held at Parliament House in Canberra today, with the Minister for Home Affairs the Hon. Peter Dutton MP presenting awards to recipients.

Twenty volunteers were recognised for their commitment and dedication to keeping children safe online, and providing parents, carers and teachers with invaluable online safety education.

Additionally, New South Wales Police Force was awarded ThinkUKnow Youth Partner of the Year for their role in expanding the reach of the program in New South Wales during 2018-19, delivering 1,121 presentations to more than 104,000 students.

Assistant Commissioner Crime Operations Debbie Platz acknowledged the work of ThinkUKnow volunteers and presenters across the country.

“Volunteers—now more than 900—are the life blood of the ThinkUKnow online safety education program,” Assistant Commissioner Platz said.

“I sincerely thank and congratulate all volunteers who give their time to make a difference to our communities across Australia; each presentation delivered helps to educate our community and ultimately keep young people safe online.”

In 2018-19, ThinkUKnow presenters and volunteers delivered presentations to 222,594 students and almost 17,000 parents, carers and teachers.

The 2019 ThinkUKnow Volunteer of the Year Award recipients include:

  • Dane Stephens—Australian Federal Police
  • Damian Glover—Bankwest
  • Ngoc Nguyen—Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Andrew Collins—Datacom
  • Tanya Smith—Microsoft
  • Graham Higgerson—Neighbourhood Watch Australasia


  • David Stevens — Australian Federal Police
  • Graeme Ellice — Bankwest
  • Brendan Tink and Rosemarie Sahyoun — Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Gail Collins and Gregory Furlong — Datacom
  • Grant Clayton and Raymond Fleming — Microsoft
  • David Colville — Independent

To celebrate one decade since the beginning of ThinkUKnow, commendations were also awarded to five volunteers who have delivered the program since it commenced in 2009.

10 Year Volunteer recipients:

  • Jeffrey Alexander - Microsoft
  • James Blair - Microsoft
  • Jayne Crossling – Australian Federal Police
  • Kate (surname withheld) – Australian Federal Police
  • Philip Meyer – Microsoft

ThinkUKnow is a partnership between the Australian Federal Police, the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Datacom, and Microsoft, and is delivered in collaboration with State and Territory police and Neighbourhood Watch Australasia.

For more information visit the ThinkUKnow website.

Media enquiries
AFP National Media: (02) 5126 9297

National Security Hotline

Read the AFP Annual Report 2019-20

The Australian Centre to Counter Child Exploitation

Platypus Online: Read. Discover. Enjoy.