Statutory appointments

The AFP Commissioner and Deputy Commissioners (DCs) are statutory appointments made by the Governor-General under Section 17 of the Australian Federal Police Act 1979.

We are required to publish details of statutory appointments. This list is published in accordance with the requirements of the Information Publication Scheme (IPS) under the Freedom of Information Act 1982.




Reece Kershaw


2 October 2019

Lesa Gale

Deputy Commissioner

16 March 2023

Grant Nicholls

Acting Deputy Commissioner

8 March 2023

Ian McCartney

Deputy Commissioner

12 December 2019

Neil Gaughan

Deputy Commissioner

19 April 2018